Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 84 – Where I’m All Flustered!

Hello everyone … welcome to the 84th episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … this has become such a wonderful way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community and I’ve been loving it so far … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

Here is this weeks episode …

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … and of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

You can find my Original Designs for sale on Ravelry HERE

Finally you can find my Project Bags for sale on ETSY

FINISHED OBJECTS:

  1. Clean + Simple Baby Dress – 3.75mm (US5) – Purl Soho – Knit Picks Comfy Sport in Pomegranate
  2. Super Chunky Fisherman’s Rib Cowl – 15mm – Yarn by Wool Couture
  3. Baable Hat – 4 & 4.5mm (US6 & 7) – Donna Smith – Lettloppi yarn in Charcoal, Light Grey, Green & Navy and Schibot Garne in Concrete Jungle for inside of brim

WORKS IN PROGRESS:

  1. Pinwheel Scrap Blanket – no new blocks.
  2. Design Shawl – 4mm (US6) – Galler Yarns Alpaca – own design – 303 Mist Grey
  3. Pebble Socks – 2.25mm (US1) Own pattern available on Ravelry – Crazy Zauberball yarn – in the Herbstwind colourway
  4. Gift Socks – 2.5mm (US1.5) Regia 4 ply colour – 7709 – vanilla socks for father in law

RANDOM SPONTANEOUS GIVEAWAY:

 

Winner announced this week.

RIOT OF COLOUR KAL:

KAL will end on 20th November 2016

Hi everyone … so as you all know I am a lover of all things rainbow themed and colourful … so I thought it would be fun to have a KAL to encourage bright colourful knits as we head into the colder and darker days of winter …

There will be a FO and Chatter thread. Please keep all Chatter in the chatter thread … any chatter in the FO thread will be deleted.

To take part in this KAL all you have to do is to knit or crochet a colourful project … it will need to include a minimum of 3 different colours to count … it doesn’t need to be a true rainbow or have to be super saturated bright colours (pastels are fine too) … but it does have to be a project that embraces the theme of a “Riot Of Colour” however you choose to interpret that is up to you.

Each finished item gets 1 entry in the FO thread.

There will be prizes but those are yet to be determined. I will share photos of the prizes once they have been finalised. If you wish to donate a prize to the KAL then please send me a message and we can arrange this.

And as always with my KAL’s you are more than welcome to double/triple/quadruple dip into as many other KAL’s as you like!

WIPS are also allowed to be entered as long as they are less than 50% finished by the start of the KAL … also baby socks and blanket squares are not allowed in this KAL.

The Start date for the KAL will be the 24th September 2016 and the end date will be announced at a later date but I expect it to be end of October to mid November.

If you have any questions then please let me know in the Chatter thread where I can get back to you ASAP.

Also if you do post pictures on instagram please use the hashtag – #RiotOfColourKAL16 so I can see what your are all up to!

WEE LITTLE KNITS ALONG:

KAL will end on 20th November 2016

Hi everyone … so as I am currently pregnant and am in the midst of knitting all the little baby projects … I thought we could have a fun Baby Knits Along called the Wee Little Knits Along …

I will be co-hosting this KAL with the lovely Melissa of the Spicyhomemaker podcast and she will be hosting the Chatter thread in her group and I will have the FO thread in this group. Pop over to her group to check out and join in the chatter!

To take part in this KAL all you have to do is to knit a baby/young child project … (crochet is also allowed) … Also if you have already started a project that is fine your WIP’s also can be entered as long as it is less than 50% completed by the start of the KAL.

Please note Blanket squares are not eligible but finished baby blankets can be entered.
Also Baby socks can be entered but we will not be allowing baby sock WIP’s to be entered as they are so fast to knit up it.

Each finished item gets 1 entry in the FO thread.

There will be prizes but those are yet to be determined. I will share photos of the prizes once they have been finalised. If you wish to donate a prize to the KAL then please send me a message and we can arrange this.

And as always with my KAL’s you are more than welcome to double/triple/quadruple dip into as many other KAL’s as you like!

The Start date for the KAL will be the 24th September 2016 and the end date will be announced at a later date but I expect it to be end of October to mid November.

If you have any questions then please let Melissa and I know in the Chatter thread where we can get back to you ASAP.

Also if you do post pictures on instagram please use the hashtag – #WeeLittleKAL so we can see what your are all up to! We may also be doing random prize drawings from the instagram hashtag feed so make sure you share throughout the KAL to be in for extra chances of winning.

Self Managed Mini Skein Swap:

See details in the THREAD

PROJECT BAGS:

Shop is currently empty. Next update is scheduled for 19th November.

OTHER THINGS:

– Coupon Thread HERE

ACQUISITIONS:

  • None this week

Bogway Handspinner – 

I have had lots of people asking for information about this … you can find the website HERE … it is in Dutch but you can use google translate to translate the page for you … You can fill in the form to order a spinner HERE (same thing about the translating) … and if you are still unsure you can email the company on this email address – info@lowlandslegacy.nl – they do speak English so they should be able to get back to you with answers.

The only other place I have so far been able to find that sells them online is HERE but as of today they are currently sold out.

PODCASTS:

  1. SPICYHOMEMAKER
  2. THE YARN PARLOR

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

