Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 30 – The One Where I Feel Like I’m Talking Forever …

Hello everyone … welcome to the 30th episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … this has become such a wonderful way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community and I’ve been loving it so far … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

Here is this weeks episode …

 

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … on Periscope as @MINAPHILIPP (I don’t know how to link to that) and now of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

Finally you can find my Project Bags for sale on ETSY

FINISHED OBJECTS:

  1. SUMMERTIDE MKAL – by Helen Stewart, on 4mm needles, yarn is Madeline Tosh Merino Light – Cove & Candlewick colourways
  2. PHOENIX HAT – By Sally Jane Cameron, on 2.75mm needles, yarn is Shibui Staccato Silk/Merino blend

WORKS IN PROGRESS:

  1. DEW DROPS SHAWL – by Bex Hopkins, on 3.75mm needles, yarn is Dye For Yarn 100% Tussah Silk lace weight in the Hot Desire Colourway
  2. MARCO POLO – by Ela Torrente, on 4mm needles, yarn is Icelandic Kambgarn
  3. HONEY BADGER SOCKS – by Irish Girlie Knits, on 2.5mm needles, yarn is Lang Jawoll Magic Degrade
  4. COZY MEMORIES BLANKET – started this using my sock yarn scraps on 3mm needles, and I am using the 49 stitch count with a Central Double Decrease …

2000 SUBSCRIBER GIVEAWAY:

As a thank you to everyone for being so supportive of the podcast I have decided to host a Giveaway on the Ravelry Thread since we surpassed 2000 subscribers on YouTube.

IMG_5487The Prize will consist of the following:

  • A matching Pair of Project Bags by MinaMakes – One Medium size and one smaller for notions or small mini skein projects
  • A Skein of Dubai Knits Yarn on the Luna base – 100% Merino 400yrds/100gm, Some stitch Markers and a sock blocker key chain with pattern
  • The full Vida Collection of Patterns once they are all released.

The Giveaway will be open until the morning of the 12th October when I will draw for the prize winner on the podcast. You will have to be a member of the Ravelry group to be eligible to win, and you will have to answer the Prompt question.

The Question is – What would you like to see or hear more of on the Podcast?

RAINBOW-KAL DETAILS:

Prize winners were announced on this episode!

SEPTEMBER-KAL DETAILS:

Prize winners were announced on this episode!

Q&A:

I have a few questions for you all to answer this week:

  1. What are your thoughts about doing a VIDAKAL for the Vida Collection of Patterns? would that be something you are interested in joining in on? I was thinking of running to the end of November or December – thoughts on end date would also be greatly appreciated too!
  2. Have you ever tried using maths to alter a pattern? Did it work out for you? What did you learn from trying it out? If you haven’t tried it do you think you will give it a go?
  3. Would you prefer if I gave both metric and US sizes when I mention what needles I use or are you ok with just the metric?

Someone asked about blocking this week and this is the POST I did all about how I block my knits.

PROJECT BAGS:

There was a shop update on the 2nd October 2015 and I talked a bit about a new size of project bag I will be selling.

ACQUISITIONS:

This week I shared the Sock Club shipment I got from Hedgehog Fibres, a lovely surprise package from a viewer and the yarn I got from The Yarn Company in New York.

PODCASTS I MENTIONED:

  1. KILLTOCRAFT
  2. AS YET UNNAMMED KNITTING PODCAST
  3. ALONG THE LANES
  4. CURIOUS HANDMADE
  5. PINK HAIR GIRL
  6. YARNGASM
  7. ZAZU PODCAST
  8. TINY PAPER FOXES
  9. KNITTING IN THE CITY
  10. TWO TANGLED SKEINS
  11. TILLY TROUT
  12. ANDRESUE KNITS
  13. EWE WHO KNITS
  14. COLOURFUL CREATIVITY
  15. IDLECATKNITS
  16. THE CANADIAN KNITTER

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

