Knitting Expat – Episode 23 – Lots Of KAL’s …

Hello everyone … welcome to the 23rd episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … this has become such a wonderful way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community and I’ve been loving it so far … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

Here is this weeks episode …

 

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … and now of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

Finally you can find my Project Bags for sale on ETSY

FINISHED OBJECTS:

1. MERISTEM MITTENS – Yarn is a Chillean Corridale in a lavender purple colour, using 2.75mm needles. This is a test knit for Maria Montzka of the Stitched in Sweden Podcast …

2. RAIN ON THE WINDOWS SOCKS – Yarn is Austermann Stepp, using 2.25mm needles in my usual cuff down method.

3. OWN HAT DESIGN – Yarn is Fybrespates Vivacious 4 ply in the Tweed Imps colourway, knit on 2.75mm and 3mm needles, design is my own which will be released soon. (Please send me a message on Ravelry if you are interested in Testing this pattern for me).

WORKS IN PROGRESS:

1. VIAJANTE – Designed by Martina Behm, knit on 3mm and 3.5mm needles using the Wollmeise Lacegarn in Grapes For Sherri colourway …

2. PERRY’S BIRTHDAY SOCKS – Yarn is a Chillean Corridale in a lavender purple colour, using 2.75mm needles. This is a test knit for Maria Montzka of the Stitched in Sweden Podcast …

3. OWN SOCK DESIGN – Yarn is The Wool Barn Rustic Sock (80% BFL, 20% Nylon), using 2.25mm needles in my usual cuff down method, design is my own which will be released soon. (Please send me a message on Ravelry if you are interested in Testing this pattern for me).

4. COZY MEMORIES BLANKET – started this using my sock yarn scraps on 3mm needles, and I am using the 49 stitch count with a Central Double Decrease …

RAINBOW-KAL DETAILS:

 

– The KAL is running until the end of September (30th) of this year.

– You will need to be a member of the KNITTING EXPAT PODCAST RAVELRY GROUP to be eligable for prizes.

– There will be a chatter thread for general Chit Chat about the KAL and other such fun things

– There will be a Finished Objects Thread which will just be for FO’s and no chatter allowed in this thread – One finished project equals one entry in the FO thread.

– There will be prizes but these are still to be decided and announced. If you are a bag maker/stitch marker maker/ yarn dyer/ other maker of things / or just a lovely viewer who is interested in donating a prize for this KAL then please get in touch with me and we can sort it out.

KNIT-A-LONG DETAILS FOR SUNRAYS SHAWL:

– The KAL will run until the 7th September 2015 (updated to give people more time to complete), Finished Objects can be posted into the FO thread after the 1st July. So you can start before but cannot finish the shawl before the 1st July in order to enter the KAL.

– You will need to be a member of the KNITTING EXPAT PODCAST RAVELRY GROUP to be eligible for prizes

SEPTEMBER-KAL DETAILS:

– The KAL is running from 1st to the 30th September of this year.

– WIPs are allowed as long as the item is finished by the 30th September deadline.

– Only ‘S’ items allowed for the knit – a – long, so anything like socks, shawls, scarfs, sweaters, or any pattern name beginning with S.

– You will need to be a member of the KNITTING EXPAT PODCAST RAVELRY GROUP to be eligable for prizes.

– There will be a chatter thread for general Chit Chat about the KAL and other such fun things

– There will be a Finished Objects Thread which will just be for FO’s and no chatter allowed in this thread – One finished project equals one entry in the FO thread.

– There will be prizes (shown on the podcast this week). If you are a bag maker/stitch marker maker/ yarn dyer/ other maker of things / or just a lovely viewer who is interested in donating a prize for this KAL then please get in touch with me and we can sort it out.

PROJECT BAGS:

I had a bag update in the shop on Friday 14 August and there are still a number of bags available.

ACQUISITIONS:

I received a swap package from Sue of the Tangled Skein CA Etsy store, and the Whizz Bang sock pattern which was a prize from a Sock KAL being run by the Caffeinated Knitting Podcast.

PODCASTS I MENTIONED:

1. STITCHED IN SWEDEN

2. ZAZU PODCAST

3. WOOLDIARIES

4. CAFFEINATED KNITTING

5. TWO TANGLED SKEINS

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

