Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 12 – The One From Dubai …

Hello everyone … welcome to the twelfth episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … this has become such a wonderful way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community and I’ve been loving it so far … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

Here is this weeks episode …

 

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … and now of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

FINISHED OBJECTS:

1. THE BOAT TRIP COWL … This is a test knit for the lovely Chrissy of the Stitched Together Podcast … the yarn is Malabrigo Sock in the Velvet Grapes colourway …

IMG_2805

_MG_4210-1

2.FILTERING DAYLIGHT SHAWL … A lovely shawl bySUVI SIMOLA on Ravelry and the yarn is Quince & Co. Chickadee in Franks Plum and Frost …

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 12.15.56

_MG_4175-1 _MG_4174-1

3. FILM STRIP SHAWL … This was done in Cascade 220 Sport superwash in a Blue and Beige colour … I don’t have finished pictures of this yet …

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 12.17.26

_MG_4212-1 _MG_4211-1

4. TWINS BUT NOT THE SAME TODDLER TUBE SOCKS … Made up some toddle tube socks for my Friends twin girls … they are twins but not identical … so I thought it was rather fitting that the socks are different too … the yarn is Austermann Step …

IMG_2904-1 IMG_2903-1 IMG_2902-1

5. BABY TUBE SOCKS … Same yarn as above and I made some baby tube socks for the youngest member of the family … no pattern but the details of how I made these and the toddler socks are on the Ravelry Project page …

IMG_2901-1 IMG_2909-1 _MG_4160-1

ON THE NEEDLES:

1. PERSISTENCE IS KEY … I have some Caron yarn in my stash that I want to use up and I think this cabled cardigan will be perfect! Plus I’ve been wanting to make a cabled cardigan for ages … Finally got this one started and I am actually already passed the seperation of the sleeves and have carried on with the body but don’t have an updated photo for you.

IMG_1844

2. HERMIONE’S EVERYDAY SOCKS … decided to give these a go finally after having heard so much about them on the Bakery Bears podcast … and I’m knitting these up in a brightly variegated rainbow yarn by Fortissima Colour with a orange contrast for the heel and toes … not doing the texture pattern just using the sock recipe and increasing the stitch count for my foot …

_MG_4158-1 IMG_2941

ACQUISITIONS:

I finally got round to sharing the last of my acquisitions from my London trip in this episode … so hope you enjoyed …

Cascade –

_MG_4222-1 _MG_4223-1 _MG_4234-1 _MG_4233-1 _MG_4232-1

Malabrigo –

_MG_4230-1 _MG_4229-1 _MG_4227-1 _MG_4226-1 _MG_4225-1 _MG_4224-1 _MG_4236-1 _MG_4235-1

Drops –

_MG_4219-1 _MG_4220-1 _MG_4218-1 _MG_4217-1

Artistic Yarn by Abi –

_MG_4196-1 _MG_4195-1 _MG_4194-1

PODCASTS I MENTIONED:

1. STITCHED TOGETHER

2. SOCKMATICIAN

3. BAKERY BEARS

4. SWIFT KNITS

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

 

Leave a Reply

