Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 9 – The One From London …

Hello everyone … welcome to the ninth episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … today coming to you from my Parent’s home in London … I’m hoping for this to be a way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

Here is this weeks episode …

 

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … and now of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

FINISHED OBJECTS:

1. SUNRAYS SHAWL – I haven’t quite settled on the name for this one but I’m currently thinking of going with Sunrays … Mel of The Yarn Tree had dyed up this beautiful Fiery Sunset Colourway for the shawl and it looks gorgeous all knit up …

IMG_1915 IMG_1956

2. SOCKS FOR PERRY … I got some Regia Tweed yarn from Love Knitting as a test to see if it would get here and how long it would take … so that arrived and since I turned them into Socks for Perry … I used the idea of the Garter Stitch panel from the RYE socks pattern by Tin Can Knits … but otherwise the pattern is not the same at all …

3. MY MAY SOCKS … The first pair of socks I made for myself this month are by Regia in their PERSIAN CARPET colourway … used my favourite Fish Lips Kiss Heel and toe up method of sock knitting …

4. WINTER IS COMING SHAWL … Sally-Jane of the PINK HAIR GIRL Podcast is doing a KAL for this shawl she designed inspired by the Game of Thrones series … and I knit the whole thing start to finish on the journey over from Bahrain to London …

5. TODDLER CABLED HAT … I used some of the RICO CREATIVE MELANGE CHUNKY Yarn I’d ordered to make up this cute child’s hat for a friend’s 3 year old … I created the pattern myself so may type that up to be released if anyone is interested …

6. SUBTLE STRIPES HAT … I had some random 50gm skeins of worsted yarn I’d ordered as a trial for a sweater I was planning but decided not to use these two … and not wanting to leave them languishing I created this simple hat pattern to use them up … another one I will need to write up into a proper pattern … This used the Drops LIMA and ALASKA yarns …

ON THE NEEDLES:

1. PERSISTENCE IS KEY – I have some Caron yarn in my stash that I want to use up and I think this cabled cardigan will be perfect! Plus I’ve been wanting to make a cabled cardigan for ages … Finally got this one started and I am just working on the sleeve and body increases before I separate for the sleeves!

IMG_1844

2. NEWBORN VERTEBRAE … by Kelly Brooker is a free pattern on Ravelry which I am knitting up as part of the LeLoBabyKAL being organised by the lovely Lottie of the ANDJUSTANOTHERPODCAST and Lea of the ALLYOUKNITISLOVE Podcast …

COMING UP ON THE NEEDLES:

1. RAGLAN Jumper for my Dad … I’m going to be using the DROPS BIG MERINO yarn …

IMG_2084

OTHER THINGS:

1. My Mum now pretty much has complete ownership of my Watermelon socks … which is fine as they fit her better than me anyway … she is equally as addicted to watermelons as I am …

IMG_2226

2. My Brother made a small appearance on the podcast wearing his Trooper Jumper and a couple other things I had made him …

IMG_2207

SENTIMENTAL BITS:

I had some time while in London to go raiding my Parent’s attic and found some of the baby knits that my Aunt’s and Cousin’s had made me and my brother when we were born … My Mum kept everything stored away for when we would have our own children to pass on these clothes too …

I found a few photos in my computer archive of me and my brother wearing our handknits … some are the same as the ones I showed in the podcast others I did not show … but these are just a few examples of the many things my Mum has stored away …

221 23 22 14 11

222 15 29

ACQUISITIONS:

1. LAVENDER – Finally got my hands on some lavender buds!

2. NEEDLES – I got a couple sets of the cheep chinese needles from Amazon which actually aren’t all that bad … they have a pretty good join and I didn’t have any issues with yarn snagging on these … so happy with that purchase …

3.The Yarn Tree – I ordered some Sock Yarn from the Yarn Tree UK when she sent me the colourway for the Sunrays Shawl and she threw in an extra skein as a giveaway prize for the KAL …

4. THE WOOL BARN – I managed to catch the last update from the Wool Barn in time to be able to place an order for some of her gorgeous yarns … can’t wait to make something special with these …

5. RICO CREATIVE MELANGE CHUNKY YARN – I love this yarn for Hats and got three balls in each of the following colourways – Berry Turquoise (09) – Green Orange (33) – Red Beige (16)

6. DROPS BABY ALPACA SILK – I got 10 balls each of the Red (3609) and Medium Grey (8465) colourways to make cardigans … although I’ll probably have enough left over to make a shawl too after its done …

7. DROPS BIG MERINO – I got 19 balls total in the Anthracite (03) colourway to make a sweater for my Dad’s 60th Birthday …

8. DROPS ALPACA – I got 9 balls of the Goldenrod (2923) colourway which is a lovely mustard yellow colour … again for a cardigan …

I have a lot of other acquisitions to share but it will have to be spread over a couple more episodes otherwise I’m afraid I will be talking for hours …

PACKAGES:

1. SOFIA FROM SWEDEN – Sofia sent me some gorgeous Swedish Lace weight yarn … and some Norwegian Alpaca Silk yarn which I love! … along with some snips and delicious looking chocolate!

IMG_1908

2. TILLY TROUT FROM THE UK – Tilly was so kind and sent me some amazing Silk Lace Yarn by DyeForYarn … along with a selection of other goodies which was just so incredible …

IMG_2158

PODCASTS I MENTIONED:

1. TILLY TROUT

2. AND JUST ANOTHER PODCAST

3. ALL YOU KNIT IS LOVE

4. PINK HAIR GIRL

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

