Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 8 – My Knitting Firsts – Shownotes …

Hello everyone … welcome to the eighth episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … I’m hoping for this to be a way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

This week is a special knitting episode all about My Knitting Firsts … you can see that video here …

 

The online learning resources I found helpful mainly was Youtube … in particular the VERY PINK KNITS channel … there are lots of others that are equally good but I learnt most of what got me started from this one …

Projects I talked about:

– Cowl/Bag – was supposed to be a cowl but ended up a bag as it was too wide for a cowl …

– My First Hat – this was a disaster …

_MG_9078-1 _MG_9075-1

– Head bands – I made a fair few of these in the early days … good instant satisfaction projects …

_MG_8176-1

– Lace shawl/cowl – this started as a shawl and ended as a cowl …

_MG_9073-1 IMG_0073 IMG_0077

– Vest Top – pretty much this turned into my own design by the time I was finished with it … it did not resemble the pattern I used as a base at all in the end …

_MG_7413-1 _MG_7407-1 _MG_7500-1 _MG_7512-1 _MG_7398-1 _MG_7402-1

– First Sweater – Top Down Raglan … this was actually a recipe type pattern so was very customisable …

_MG_3050-1 _MG_3367-1 _MG_3382-1– First Blanket – Radience Knit Throw by Red Heart … I knit this in yarn I had from Iran and love the colours and how it turned out …

_MG_7427-1– First Crochet Blanket – did a rather bulky Granny Square Blanket … using some leftover superbulky yarn from Iran …

-First Successful Hat – Wavy Moss Slouchy … I love how this one turned out and it was a relatively quick knit too …

_MG_3012-1 _MG_2893-1

– Cottage Slippers – This was the first time I had come across sock style construction in a pattern before … and I quickly realised I hated the top down construction method of making socks …

_MG_2866-1 _MG_2858-1– First colour work hat – a simple fair isle pattern made to look more complicated by using a variegated yarn with a neutral background colour …

_MG_2660-1

– First Sock Weight Shawl – The Pluma Shawlette – Loved knitting this with the Yarn I’d gotten in South Africa …

_MG_2708-1 _MG_3574-1

– Made a Balaclava for my Brother … I basically made up this pattern as I went a long trying it on as I went and hoped it would fit him …

_MG_3053-1

– Oversized Hat turned Yarn Bowl! – a very valuable lesson learnt about gauge …

– First Sock Weight Socks … not special sock yarn but self striping and it was fun to knit up …

_MG_0876-1 _MG_0874-1

– First All Over Lace Garment – The Camilia Doleman … Loved knitting this although it did nearly kill my fingers …

_MG_1382-1 _MG_7094-1

– Cabled Hats – more forays into naturally designing my own things based off of stitch patterns I liked …

_MG_0939-1 _MG_1144-1 _MG_1168-1 _MG_1234-1

-First Shawl Design … this is now out with test knitters …

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset IMG_1773

Other knitting Techniques and things I’d like to try are:

1. Steeking

2. Sewing zippers to my work

3. Adding Beads to my work

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

 

Leave a Reply

