Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 7 – Calling For Test Knitters …

Hello everyone … welcome to the seventh episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … I’m hoping for this to be a way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you … so far I’ve been loving the interaction with other knitters from around the world that this new avenue has opened up to me … come join the fun …

Here is this weeks episode …

 

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … and now of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

FINISHED OBJECTS:

1. MY SHAWL DESIGN – I haven’t quite settled on the name for this one but I do have a couple ideas … I want to wait to see the colourway that Mel of The Yarn Tree has dyed up for it before I settle on a name … so I finished the test piece and I love how it turned out … its a perfect sized shawl for me … and it blocked out beautifully … I used Malabrigo Sock in the Caribeno colourway …

IMG_1773 Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

I am actually now looking for test knitters for this shawl … I am hoping to get the pattern out to testers later this week so please do get in touch with me on Ravelry with your email address if you are interested in testing this pattern for me …

ON THE NEEDLES:

1. PERSISTENCE IS KEY – I have some Caron yarn in my stash that I want to use up and I think this cabled cardigan will be perfect! Plus I’ve been wanting to make a cabled cardigan for ages … Finally got this one started and I am just working on the sleeve and body increases before I separate for the sleeves!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

 

COMING UP ON THE NEEDLES:

1. SOCKS FOR PERRY … I got some Regia Tweed yarn (see acquisitions) from Love Knitting as a test to see if it would get here and how long it would take … so that arrived and will be socks for Perry …

2. MY MAY SOCKS … I have so much sock yarn waiting for me at my parents that I can’t wait to get there and decide which one to cast on for my May socks …

3. ANOTHER VERSION OF MY SHAWL DESIGN … As I mentioned above The Yarn Tree has dyed up a custom colourway for this shawl design so when I get my hands on the skein she has sent me (its in London) I will be knitting up another of these to show you what it will look like …

4. WINTER IS COMING SHAWL … Sally-Jane of the PINK HAIR GIRL Podcast is doing a KAL for this shawl she designed inspired by the Game of Thrones series … and I really want to knit it … I’m pretty sure I will be taking it with me for some plane knitting …

5. MARCO POLO – As it turned out I actually had enough of my Icelandic KAMBGARN yarn in my stash to knit this cardigan and I’ve done all the swatches for this now so just need to do the maths and figure out the best needle size to go for …

ACQUISITIONS:

1. REGIA 6PLY TWEED – in a charcoal colourway … I got this as a test order from Love Knitting … it arrived in good time and now I’m planning some socks for Perry …

2. ARTISTIC YARNS BY ABI – my friend in Dubai organised a bulk order from this etsy seller having taken orders from everyone in the Dubai based knitting group who wanted some … and its finally arrived so I’m really excited to get to finally lay my hands on those skeins …

DESIGNS & PROJECT BAGS:

1. DELAYED DEPARTURES – This is a cowl I worked on while I was delayed at Dubai Airport on my way home on Thursday evening … hence the name … I will be releasing this pattern tomorrow so I’m really excited about that …

_MG_3818-1 _MG_3824-1 _MG_3886-1

2. PROJECT BAGS – I had someone send me a message asking me to make them a custom patchwork project bag … so I did … and I love how it turned out … and I’ve decided to make up a few more bags in the hopes that some of you viewers of the podcast would be interested in purchasing them … so if you are interested in a Project bag then please do get in touch …

IMG_1597IMG_1523-0

PODCASTS I MENTIONED:

1. FRECKLED WHIMSY

2. AND JUST ANOTHER PODCAST

3. ICHIGO KNITTER

4. YARN ON OVER

5. PINK HAIR GIRL

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube … join the Ravelry group and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

