Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 3 – I Have Giant Feet – Shownotes …

Hello everyone … welcome to the third episode of the Knitting Expat Podcast … I’m hoping for this to be a way for me to get more involved with the online knitting community … so please do get in touch … I’d love to hear from you …

Here is this weeks episode …

 

Things I talked about …

INTRODUCTION & WHERE TO FIND ME:

Hi my name is Mina, I currently live in Bahrain with my Husband and 2 cats, we lived in Dubai up until recently and before that we were in London UK. You can learn more in the ABOUT ME section, otherwise if you have any questions please leave a comment or send me a message on Ravelry/Instagram.

You can find me on RAVELRYINSTAGRAM … and my LIFE BLOG … and now of course YOUTUBE

I have also created a RAVELRY GROUP for the Knitting Expat Podcast so you can join in the conversation there …

IMG_1159-0Other things I talked about this week included our little monsters figuring out how to open our wardrobe doors …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI hosted the firstKNITTING IN BAHRAIN meetup last week which went really well … it was lovely to get to meet new people and help some ladies get started on their knitting journey …

I talked a bit about the progress (or lack there of) on the status of my Residency visa and going to Saudi Arabia … as well as a few other little bits and pieces …

FINISHED OBJECTS:

1. SODERMALM LIGHT – A Fairisle hat by Maria of the STITCHED IN SWEDEN Podcast … knit this out of my Knit Picks Palette yarn in the Mist, Delta and Whirlpool colourways …

IMG_1110 IMG_1186-0

2. MELISANDRE SOCKS – Yarn is NURTURING FIBRES SOCK WOOL in the Red Velvet Colourway, and the pattern is by Purrlescent on Ravelry.

IMG_1163-0 IMG_1235-0

ON THE NEEDLES:

1. STRIPES GONE CRAZY – Yarn is mostly DUBAI KNITS FAITH HOPE & LOVE in the Bridesmaid, Smokey Orchid and Wisterious colourways, and the fourth colour is a Grey DROPS BABY ALPACA SILK yarn, the pattern is by Atelier Alfa on Ravelry.

IMG_1202-0

UP AND COMING PROJECTS:

1. PERSISTENCE IS KEY … I have some Caron yarn in my stash that I want to use up and I think this cabled cardigan will be perfect! Plus I’ve been wanting to make a cabled cardigan for ages …

2. MARCO POLO – As it turned out I actually had enough of my Icelandic KAMBGARN yarn in my stash to knit this cardigan and I’ve done all the swatches for this now so just need to do the maths and figure out the best needle size to go for …

3. Design Projects – I have some design ideas that I am fleshing out so hopefully once those are a bit more ready I’ll be able to share some previews …

AQUISITIONS:

I checked out one of the local yarn shops someone on the facebook group mentioned and while it was mostly acrylic stuff I did pick up some cotton yarn that I plan on using for a design project and some Bamboo yarn to play with … I’ve never knit with bamboo so I’m interested to see how this will work out … I also got a small Poof pom pom for a hat and a set of fixed 3.5mm needles in a random off brand I thought I’d try it out as the cable looked interesting …

PODCASTS I MENTIONED:

1. PINK HAIR GIRL

2. FUZZY LOVE KNOTS

……………………………………………

That is it for this week’s Episode, I hope you enjoyed and if you did please subscribe on Youtube and leave a little comment to say hello and/or to let me know what you think … I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions or ideas for the podcast and of course I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have aswell.

Till next time …

Happy Knitting …

Mina X

2 comments

  1. Jocelyn · March 31, 2015

    Just finished watching the first two episodes. Love love love! I like how you have a structure to the podcast and not just go rambling off on all directions. I must insist that you bring a tin of that gorgeous-sounding caramel tea for me 🙂 only if you can. We might have to do a meet-up at that tea house when I visit. Notice I said when and not if 🙂 I promised myself that I will read that Fish Lips thingie once I am done with two current WIPs. That’s motivation enough. I really want to knit my own pair of Melisandre, would have been nice to wear it when Game of Thrones premieres in two weeks, but I doubt I can whip up a pair in that time. Unless my name is Mina 😛

    Anyway, really excited to see how the crazy stripes cardi turns out. I queued it up as well, but will use Wollmeise from my stash.

    Really loving the podcast!

    Like

    • minayamini · April 3, 2015

      Oh nO … I only just saw this comment now … and obviously too late now but I’ll be back and I’ll make sure to bring you some of the caramel tea!!!! xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

